“N’ihi na Ihere ozi oma ahu adigh-emem: n’ihi na o bu ike nke Chineke rue nzoputa nye onye o bula nke kwere; onye-Ju na mbu, na onye–Grik kwa. Ndi Rom 1:16.”

“I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile. Romans 1:16.”

Africans are inherently religious and religion has a very strong influence on the Igbo culture. In fact, it will be difficult to separate the Igbo people’s culture from their religion and language. The Igbo church will seek to provide that link between very far away home and the present, and might be the only credible forum to unite Igbo speaking British families in London.

Since the early days of Christianity in Igbo land, the Igbo people embraced the concept of one God; the Almighty, their God and God has made them His people. This is demonstrated in the naming of Igbo people in which the name of God, CHI is highly associated. For example, Iheanyichukwu, Chinyere, Amarachi, Onyinyechi, Chinemerem, Chimzurum, Chinecherem, e.t.c.

The concept of an Igbo speaking Anglican fellowship in London was first raised in 2007 by Canon Ben Enwuchola, the incumbent Nigeria Chaplain of the Nigerian Chaplaincy in UK. The initial meeting was held in my parish church, St Mary’s Harmondsworth, however the concept stalled because the support as at then, within the London based Nigerian clergy, was very minimal.

The idea never left me and I have always pondered and dreamed of what the experience will be like to have all Igbos worshipping God in their native tongue in the United Kingdom. God rekindled the vision in me this year of planting Anglican Igbo Church in London. He called, gave the vision, equipped and we are running with it by His grace.

The concept of the Anglican Igbo Fellowship in London was introduced again by me at the July 2010 meeting of the Archdeacon Denis Junior seminary (ADJS) Old boys associated (OBA), which took place at Mr and Mrs Eze Iheanacho’s residence in Edmonton, London. The idea was immediately embraced unanimously by the house and a five man committee was setup to deliver this enterprise. The members of the planning committee from ADJS London, were Ven Dr Amatu Onundu Christian-Iwuagwu (Chair), Dr George Onuoha, Mr Nnamdi Maduka, Mr Chukwudum Aguocha, Mr Chuks Nwolokoro and Mr Emeka Okike.

Following several planning meetings, a venue was sorted and agreed; the blessings of the Nigerian Chaplaincy, the Bishops of London – Willesden & Stepney, Edmonton – were also sorted and received. Following the securing of a strong foundation for the Inaugural service, the date of the first service was agreed to be the 7 th of November 2010 and to be called “Anglican Igbo Church of the Holy Trinity” meeting at All Saints Church, Church Street, Edmonton, London N9 9AT.

It was identified that strong publicity will be the key to the success of this vision, so the planning committee was merged with a number of identified stakeholders and renamed the “Steering Committee”. Aggressive publicity campaign plan was drawn up, which included, 2500 flyers and posters disseminated through the steering committee, several advertisements on BEN TV and an article on Enugustatedirect.com by Mr Arthur Obika.

The names of the Igbo Church Steering Committee are:

•  The Ven. Dr. Amatu Onundu Christian-Iwuagwu

  • Mrs Princess Christian-Iwuagwu
  • The Ven. Samson Anwasia
  • Rev’d Canon Nelson Ajoku
  • Rev’d Ifeanyi Chukwuka
  • Dr George Onuoha
  • Chief Nnamdi Olebara
  • Mr Eze Iheanacho
  • Mr Nnamdi Maduka
  • Sir Emeka Onah
  • Sir Prof. Chike Onyiagha
  • Lady Ngozi Onyiagha
  • Mr Obinna Opurum
  • Mr Gabriel Agunwah
  • Mr Chukwudum Aguocha
  • Mrs Barbara Aguocha
  • Chief Peter Nwogbe
  • Lolo Justina Nwogbe
  • Mr David Nwogbe
  • Mrs Abigail Omeji
  • Mr Brown Olisa
  • Mrs Joy Olisa
  • Mrs Gold Egele
  • Mr Arthur Obika
  • Mr Evans Ofoajoku
  • Mrs Irene Ofoajoku
  • Mr Emma Ahanonu
  • Mr Daberechi Iwuoha
  • Mrs Nkiru Egbochukwu
  • Mr Chinema Ofoma
  • Ozo Ossie Onyebalu
  • Mr Emeka Okike
  • Mr Chijioke Nwoke
  • Mr Nonye Christian-Iwuagwu
  • Mr Bennett Anyasodo
  • Ms Josephine Achilefu